Derebail Cup - 2017 Back

'Sports are pastimes that bring joy and brotherhood among people.' With this in mind the members of YSD-ICYM organised Derebail Cup-2017, inter-parish football and lagori for the YCS of Mangalore Diocese. The tournament began with a prayer song by the youth. The stage programme  was graced by the Parish Priest Rev. Fr.Austin Peres, Fr.Ronald Prakash D'Souza, Director of ICYM Mangalore Diocese ; Mr.Edward Coelho, Vice-President of Derebail Parish ; Mrs.Lizzie Fernandes, animator of YSD and secretary of Derebail Parish ; Mr.Elroy Saldanha ,President of ICYM Mangalore Diocese and Mr.Preston Sequeira, President of YSD . Doves were released with the message 'that the sky isn't the limit and one must always aim higher.' Fr.Austin Peres stressed the importance of sports and Fr.Ronald Prakash D'Souza congratulated the youth and asked them to work harder. The newly printed YSD t-shirt was unveiled and presented to Mrs.Lizzie Fernandes by Fr.Austin Peres. The guests then officially inaugurated the football match by kicking the football and the lagori match by aiming the ball at the stones.

          Preston Sequeira welcomed the gathering and Joylin D'Cunha proposed the vote of thanks. It was then time for the matches to begin. With 36 teams in football and 11 teams in lagori the day passed by with the spectators witnessing some amazing competition among the teams. The home team of Derebail unit won the lagori match giving a tough fight to the team from Bajjodi Parish. The football finals were held between Cordel and Bendoor Parish with Bendoor emerging as winners.

          Fr.Austin Peres and Fr.Gratian Alvares gave away the prizes to the winners and felicitated the referees at the Valedictory Ceremony. The smiles on everyones faces were an indication that the day had turned out to be a success. The programme was compered by Maizy Fernandes and the commentators for the day were Glanet Lasrado and Prajwal Sequeira. The tournament was held at AJIMS Sports Ground, Kuntikan.


Winners - Derebail Parish
Runners up - Bajjodi Parish

Best Hitter - Delina D'Souza, Derebail

Best Catcher - Riyanna, Bajjodi


Winners – Bendoor Parish
Runners up - Cordel Parish


Report by: Maizy Fernandes