Catholic Sabha Back

Catholic Sabha is an association of Catholics at Mangalore Diocese which exist with the permission of Bishop of Mangalore. Its registered number is 132/87-88. In the year 1997 Catholic Sabha association got affiliation under ‘All Indian Catholic Union’. The birth of the Catholic Sabha came into forum after Vatican II Council. The Council lifted up the role of the laity in the missionary activity of the Church. Laity needs to be included in the effective apostolic works. Laity is obliged under Priestly, Prophetic, and Kingly role of the Christ. These are the main resolutions of Vatican II for the betterment of the laity. This association helps the laity to involve themselves in political administration, which will bestow positive effects on society. Catholics can by this take lead in society to face the challenges which are ahead of them. In Mangalore Catholic Sabha came into existence on 23rd April, 1979, in order, to improve the laity’s role in the Church and in the society.


Office Bearers:

President : Mr. Dennis Lasrado
Vice president : Mrs. Mary Vas
Secretary : Mr. Vincent Pinto
Assisting Secretary : Emmy D'mello
Treasurer : Mr. Charles John Concessao
"Amcho Sandesh" Bulletin Head : Juliana Lasrado
"Sri Sangatan" Co-Ordinator : Terry Vas
Political Co-ordinator : Michael Rodrigues
Social Work Co-ordinator : Victor Correa